clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Stu Holden named to US Soccer roster for Gold Cup tournament

Matt Sullivan

On Wednesday night, Stu Holden played his first match in a United States Mens' National Team shirt for the first time in 2.5 years. He came into the game as an 80th minute sub, finishing out the match as United States lost 2-4 to Belgium in Cleveland. This Sunday, he has a chance to earn additional minutes as the Americans are set to take on Germany in Washington DC.

Ahead of that game, CONCACAF, the governing body whose nations include the United States, Mexico, Panama, Costa Rica, and others throughout North America, Central America, and the Carribean, has released the participating nations' squads for this summer's Gold Cup tournament. The squad is heavily comprised of North America-based players but there are a lot of familiar names involved. The squad is comprised of 35 names, a number of which will be cut before the tournament begins.

For Bolton Wanderers fans, the one name that matters is that of Stu Holden, who has the chance to really push on ahead of the coming season.

The full squad list is as follows (alphabetically):

Corey Ashe - Houston Dynamo

DaMarcus Beasley - Puebla

Kyle Beckerman - Real Salt Lake

Alejandro Bedoya - Helsingborgs

Tony Beltran - Real Salt Lake

Matt Besler - Sporting Kansas City

Carlos Bocanegra - Racing Santander

Will Bruin - Houston Dynamo

Edgar Castillo - Club Tijuana

Joe Corona - Club Tijuana

Brad Davis - Houston Dynamo

Mikkel Diskerud - Rosenborg

Landon Donovan - LA Galaxy

Brad Evans - Seattle Sounders

Benny Feilhaber - Sporting Kansas City

Josh Gatt - Molde

Herculez Gomez - Santos Laguna

Clarence Goodson - Brondby

Alan Gordon - San Jose Earthquakes

Tally Hall - Houston Dynamo

Bill Hamid - DC United

Stu Holden - Bolton Wanderers

Eddie Johnson - Seattle Sounders

Sean Johnson - Chicago Fire

Jack McInerny - Philadelphia Union

Oguchi Onyewu - Malaga

Michael Orozco-Fiscal - Puebla

Michael Parkhurst - Augsburg

Nick Rimando - Real Salt Lake

Brek Shea - Stoke City

Jose Francisco Torres - Tigres

Chris Wondolowski - San Jose Earthquakes

Bobby Wood - 1860 Munich

Graham Zusi - Sporting Kansas City