clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wanderers face Capital One Cup draw next week

Scott Heavey

The Trotters are getting into the cup competitions nice and early this season, in what is a true show of glamourous life in the Championship. Bolton Wanderers fans will remember the club's ill-fated trip to Crawley Town last season, which was a second-round fixture in last season's Capital One Cup competition. Wanderers would lose 2-1 on the day, following a go-ahead goal by Benik Afobe before throwing the game away with less than ten minutes to play.

This year, Bolton enter the competition in the first round, with the fixtures to be played on 5 August. The Football League has just announced the seeding for the first round (to be drawn on Monday) and Wanderers can see the 18 non-seeded teams from which they will be matched with one.

The non-seeded teams in question are as follows:

  1. Accrington Stanley
  2. Bradford City
  3. Burton Albion
  4. Bury
  5. Carlisle United
  6. Chesterfield
  7. Fleetwood Town
  8. Hartlepool United
  9. Mansfield Town
  10. Morecambe
  11. Oldham Athletic
  12. Port Vale
  13. Preston North End
  14. Rochdale
  15. Rotherham United
  16. Scunthorpe United
  17. Shrewsbury Town
  18. York City

Should Bolton Wanderers advance, the second round will be played on 26 August, following another draw.