clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Bolton v Reading: Lineups and Live Match Thread

New, comments

It's the home opener! Bolton Wanderers have drawn their first league match away and won their first cup match away. Now it's time to return to the friendly confines of Reebok Stadium, where promotion favorites Reading will try to set the tone for the season with a big result up north.

I'll bring the ball.
I'll bring the ball.
Chris Brunskill

Keith Andrews has been loaned out and Jay Spearing has been brought in on a permanent deal.  Both of these moves, combined with a Chris Eagles injury picked up last Saturday have had a big effect on Bolton's starting XI.  I'm sure Dougie Freedman didn't expect to be chopping and changing this early in the season, but sometimes that is the way it goes.

Bolton_home_medium
Bolton Wanderers v. Reading
Location: Reebok Stadium, Bolton
Date: 10 August, 2013

Time: 7:00 am PST, 10:00 am EST, 3:00 pm GMT

Records (W-D-L, +/-, Points, Place):

Home: 0-1-0, +0, 1, 12th

Form: W-D

Away: 1-0-0, +1, 3, 7th

Form: W

Huddersfield_medium
GKAdam Bogdan
GK: Alex McCarthy
D: Marc Tierney D: Alex Pearce
D: Zat Knight
D: Danny Guthrie
D: David Wheater D: Wayne Bridge
D: Alex Baptiste D: Chris Gunter
M: Jay Spearing M: Nick Blackman
M: Medo Kamara M: Jobi McAnuff
M: Darren Pratley M: Jem Karacan
M: Chung-Yong Lee M: Garath McCleary
M: David Ngog M: Sean Morrison
F: Jermaine Beckford F: Royston Drenthe


Bolton Wanderers Substitutes: Andy Longergan, Tim Ream, Tyrone Mears, Andre Moritz, Rob Hall, Sanmi Odelusi, Craig Davies,

Reading Substitutes: Adam Federici, Stephen Kelly, Pavel Pogrebnyak, Adam Le Fondre, Kaspars Gorkss, Hal Ronson-Kanu, Daniel Williams

It looks like a 4-5-1 to me, with Ngog dropping into a deeper role behind Beckford.  Thoughts?