clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Chelsea v Bolton Wanderers: Capital One Cup coverage

New, comments

Bolton travel to London dreaming of the type of upset that was once a reality.

It will be a bit different this time around...
It will be a bit different this time around...
Clive Brunskill
Birmingham_city_home_medium
ChelseaBolton Wanderers
Location: Stamford Bridge, London
Date: September 24th, 2014

Time: 7:45 pm GMT, 11:45 am PST, 2:45 pm EST

Records (W-D-L, +/-, Points, Place):

Home: 4-1-0, +9, 13, 1st

Form: W-W-W-W-D-D

Away: 1>-2-5, -6, 5, 21st

Form: L-W-L-D-W-L

Boltonhome_medium
GK
GK:
D: D:
D:
D:
D: D:
D:
D:
M: M:
M: M:
M: M:
M: M:
F: F:
F: F:

Chelsea substitutes:

Bolton substitutes:

Let's be honest, Bolton are not expected to put up much of a fight in this match.  Chelsea could probably lay their under 18's and still be favored to win by two goals.  This used to be tough match for a team like Chelsea.  And the reason for that?  an old cliche.  Bolton were "tough to beat."  It became a cliche because it is true.  Teams that are hard to break down, tough to get any traction against, etc., etc., are successful teams.  Until Bolton's defense returns to that level, the club will continue to struggle.

Below you will find what my starting XI would be for this match.  Keep in mind, not who I think Dougie Freedman will start, but who I would start if I were manager:

Paddy Kenny

Chris Herd Matt Mills Tim Ream Oscar Threlkeld

Medo Kamara Mark Davies

Rob Hall Darren Pratley Chung-Yong Lee

Max Clayton

There it is.  Don't like it?  Put your starting XI in the comments below.  And while you are here, give us a final score prediction!