clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers v Leeds United: LIVE

Wanderers host Leeds this afternoon in dire need of a victory and a much-improved performance

Josh Vela makes his first start of the season today
Josh Vela makes his first start of the season today
Michael Steele/Getty Images

Bolton Wanderers welcome Leeds United to the Macron this afternoon, with fans hoping for just a second victory of the season to climb off the bottom of the Championship.

Wanderers were back in the footballing headlines yesterday as it was announced they had completed the signing of former Newcastle United striker Shola Ameobi to further bolster their goal-shy strikeforce, and he starts on the bench today.

Bolton suffered a bitter blow with the loss of Wellington Silva in the loss to Birmingham City on Tuesday night, seeing our main attacking threat join Zach Clough on the sidelines. Today Lennon appears to have reverted to a 4-4-2 with a diamond in midfield, seeing Mark Davies in behind Gary Madine and Liam Feeney with Darren Pratley, Neil Danns and Josh Vela, who starts for the first time this season.

Our opponents come into today's game with a new manager, as Steve Evans took over from the sacked Uwe Rosler in midweek. Evans appears to have gone for a 4-4-2, with Mirco Antenucci and Chris Wood up front.

Bolton have now only won one of their last 17 league games, losing nine of those, and the stats don't stack up well in Bolton's favour this afternoon either. We haven't beaten Leeds at home since 2004 and have only won one of their last ten visits to our ground, only keeping a clean sheet on one of the last 12 occasions.

Here are today's starting lineups, stay in touch with all the action from the Macron and let us know your thoughts on today's game and Wanderers news in general in the Comments section below.

Bolton Wanderers:

GK Ben Amos
RB Derik Osede
CB David Wheater
CB Prince
LB Jose Manuel Casado
DM Neil Danns
CM Darren Pratley
CM Josh Vela
AM Mark Davies
CF Gary Madine
CF Liam Feeney

Substitutes: Shola Ameobi, Paul Rachubka, Dorian Dervite, Max Clayton, Stephen Dobbie, Filip Twardzik, Tom Walker.

Leeds United:

GK Marco Silvestri
RB Sam Byram
CB Liam Cooper
CB Sol Bamba
LB Gaetano Berardi
RM Stuart Dallas
CM Tom Adeyemi
CM Luke Murphy
LM Lewis Cook
CF Mirco Antenucci
CF Chris Wood

Substitutes: Charlie Horton, Giuseppe Bellusci, Scott Wootton, Kalvin Phillips, Alex Mowatt, Will Buckley, Souleymane Doukara