clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers v Nottingham Forest: LIVE

The big day is here - the return of the useless one as Dougie Freedman returns to the Macron for the first time. Follow all the action live as Bolton STILL continue their search for a first goal of the season

Neil Lennon welcomes Dougie Freedman to the Macron for the first time today
Neil Lennon welcomes Dougie Freedman to the Macron for the first time today
Charlie Crowhurst/Getty Images

Bolton Wanderers continue their search for a first goal and first win of the season against a familiar face today, with former manager Dougie Freedman returning to the Macron Stadium for the first time since his ignominious sacking 10 months ago.

His replacement Neil Lennon is enduring a tricky start to the season, with a series of disappointing performances killing the optimism from the opening day draw with Derby County. But that would all change with a positive result at the Macron today - and if the players can't get up for this game, then they never will.

Lennon seems to have gone for a change of shape and introduced wingers to give Wellington Silva his Bolton debut, with Tom Walker making his first start of the season on the left wing. Liam Feeney has finally been dropped to incorporate them but Neil Danns somehow continues in central midfield alongside captain Mark Davies, with Josh Vela and Jay Spearing on the bench. Young defender Alex Finney is named on the bench for the first time.

I have no idea how Forest will line up, but then that comes to be expected. He's named three players that you'd normally consider centre backs, so it could well be a 3-5-2.

Follow updates from all the action at the Macron today and let us know your thoughts on all things Wanderers in the Comments section below. Come on you Whites!!

Here are today's starting lineups:

Bolton Wanderers:

GK Ben Amos
RB Lawrie Wilson
CB Prince
CB Dorian Dervite
LB Dean Moxey
CM Neil Danns
CM Mark Davies
RW Wellington Silva
AM Zach Clough
LW Tom Walker
CF Gary Madine

Substitutes: Ross Fitzsimmons, Josh Vela, Liam Feeney, Jay Spearing, Emile Heskey, Stephen Dobbie, Alex Finney

Nottingham Forest:

GK Dorus de Vries
RB Eric Lichaj
CB Matt Mills
CB Jack Hobbs
LB Daniel Pinillos
DM Michael Mancienne
CM Kyle Ebicilio
CM Henri Lansbury
RW Michail Antonio
LW Ben Osborn
CF Tyler Walker

Substitutes: Dimitar Evtimov, Kelvin Wilson, Danny Fox, David Vaughan, Chris Burke, Oliver Burke, Jorge Grant