clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers Confirm Squad Numbers for the New Season

No surprises.

Bolton Wanderers have today confirmed the squad numbers for the upcoming season, and there are no surprises to be had - as we knew them all already.

The changes remain what they were when the players first returned back for pre-season training. Our new goalkeeper Ben Amos rightly takes the number that reflects his position for years to come. French centre-half Dorian Dervite move to number #4, with the new striker Gary Madine takes the mantle of the #14. The returning Jay Spearing seems to be looking to evoke the spirit of Stephen Gerard by taking the #8, leaving Josh Vela to wrongly take the #6. Real Madrid recruit takes the #15, and youngster Tom Walker graduates from #52 to #42. Why we've still given Rob Hall #11 and not given it to Walker is beyond me.

As expected, Zach Clough takes the iconic #10, and it doesn't half suit him.

There are no shocks with today's trifecta of signings either. Emile Heskey retains his #19 jersey, whilst Stephen Dobbie and Lawrie Wilson will wear the numbers they wore whilst on trial, #23 and #25, respectively.

The number #2 and #9 shirts remain conspicuously empty, however. Is Italian right-back Francesco Pisano primed to take on the #2, in which case I'll forgive it not been given to Wilson, and has Neil Lennon got  a surprise up his sleeve for a new number #9. Or did simply no one want them?

A number of youngsters have also been given squad numbers too. Kaiyne Woolery, Hayden White, Tom Eaves, Ross Fitzsimons, Quade Taylor, Oscar Threlkeld and Andy Kellett all keep their previous numbers (30, 32, 34, 37, 41, 43), where as some have been given them for the first time. Summer signings Jordan Lussey and Jon Ceberio take the #38 and #39 respectively. With numbers also being given to Alex Finney (#36), Rob Holding (#45), Channing Campbell-Young (#46), Yvan Wassi (#47), Nial Maher (#48), Harry Campbell (#49) and finally Will Jaaskelainen (#50).

The full list of squad numbers can be read below:

1. Ben Amos
3. Dean Moxey
4. Dorian Dervite
5. Tim Ream
6. Josh Vela
7. Liam Feeney
8. Jay Spearing
10. Zach Clough
11. Rob Hall
12. Max Clayton
14. Gary Madine
15. Derik Osede
16. Mark Davies
17. Liam Trotter
18. Neil Danns
19. Emile Heskey
21. Darren Pratley
23. Stephen Dobbie
25. Lawrie Wilson
27. Filip Twardzik
30. Kaiyne Woolery
31. David Wheater
32. Tom Eaves
33. Hayden White
34. Ross Fitzsimons
35. Conor Wilkinson
36. Alex Finney
37. Quade Taylor
38. Jordan Lussey
39. Jon Ceberio
41. Oscar Threlkeld
42. Tom Walker
43. Andy Kellett
44. Medo Kamara
45. Robert Holding
46. Channing Campbell-Young
47. Yvan Wassi
48. Niall Maher
49. Harry Campbell
50. William Jaaskelainen