clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers v Burnley: LIVE

Live updates as Wanderers entertain Burnley, who could go top of the Championship with three points

With Wanderers lacking pace and mobility up front, in comes 38-year-old Emile Heskey
With Wanderers lacking pace and mobility up front, in comes 38-year-old Emile Heskey
Alex Livesey/Getty Images

Bolton Wanderers welcome high-flying Burnley to the Macron Stadium, with the relegation battlers desperate for an almost impossible looking three points.

Today marks the first home fixture since Dean Holdsworth's Sports Shield consortium began life as owners of Bolton, and they would have hoped for an easier chance of a first victory.

Wanderers are up against a Burnley side that sits second in the league and move to the top of the table with a victory today.

Wanderers 'welcome' back Emile Heskey this afternoon in a bizarre looking diamond formation that not only lacks width but is also bereft of any creativity. Liam Feeney is likely to start in behind Heskey and Zach Clough, with the ineffectual Mark Davies alongside Darren Pratley in midfield. This means Neil Lennon is unbelievably choosing to keep Wellington Silva on the bench, alongside Kaiyne Woolery. Seriously, what is the point?

There's also one change at the back for Wanderers as Derik Osede replaces the injured Dorian Dervite, while Gary Madine returns on the bench following his bust-up with Neil Lennon.

Burnley will line up in a 4-4-2 formation with the free-scoring Andre Gray - whose 18 goals mean he has scored three times more than any Bolton player - and Sam Vokes up front. A combative midfield duo of David Jones and Joey Barton is complimented by wide threat from George Boyd and Scott Arfield.

In short, we have absolutely no chance and if Burnely don't win 3-0 or 4-0 I will be shocked.

Here are today's starting line-ups, we'll bring you all the action in the comments section below. You can also let us know your thoughts on the game and all things Wanderers in the comments section.

Bolton Wanderers
GK Paul Rachubka
RB Josh Vela
CB Rob Holding
CB Derik Osede
LB Dean Moxey
DM Jay Spearing
CM Darren Pratley
CM Mark Davies
'AM' Liam Feeney
CF Emile Heskey
CF Zach Clough
Harry Campbell
Gary Madine
Wellington Silva
Stephen Dobbie
Lawrie Wilson
Kaiyne Woolery
Neil Danns

GK Tom Heaton
RB Matt Lowton
CB James Tarkwoski
CB Ben Mee
LB Stephen Ward
RM George Boyd
CM David Jones
CM Joey Barton
LM Scott Arfield
CF Sam Vokes
CF Andre Gray
Paul Robinson
Kevin Long
Michael Kightly
Matty Taylor
Tendayi Darikwa
Fredrik Ulvestad
Rouwen Hennings