clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers v Charlton Athletic: LIVE

Live updates as Wanderers look to get back to winning ways at home to Charlton

Crystal Palace v Bolton Wanderers - The Emirates FA Cup Third Round Replay
Can top scorer Zach Clough find his shooting boots to fire Bolton back to winning ways at home to Charlton today?
Photo by Ian Walton/Getty Images

Believe it or not it's nearly a month since Bolton Wanderers last won a match. Despite remaining third in the League One table, seven points behind Sheffield United with three games in hand, we last tasted victory on New Years’ Day against Scunthorpe United.

So three points are a must as Charlton Athletic make the trip north to the Macron Stadium this afternoon. The two sides shared the points in the reverse fixture earlier this season, after the rarity of a Gary Madine goal was cancelled out by Ademola Lookman's late equaliser.

Wanderers remain unchanged from the side that conspired to lose to Swindon Town and Crystal Palace. The only change comes on the bench as Conor Wilkinson replaces Chris Taylor, who is expected to leave the club before Transfer Deadline Day on Tuesday.

Charlton have struggled somewhat so far this season and currently sit 14th in the league. They recently sold young forward Ademola Lookman to Everton, and look to be playing a 4-5-1 today with former Celtic man Tony Watt leading the line. Surprisingly, they've left the trio of Johnnie Jackson, Nicky Ajose and Ricky Holmes all on the bench.

Here are today's starting lineups, we'll bring you live updates on all the action from the Macron in the Comments section below.

Bolton Wanderers:

Ben Alnwick; Lawrie Wilson, David Wheater, Mark Beevers, Andrew Taylor; Jay Spearing, Tom Thorpe; James Henry, Josh Vela, Zach Clough; Gary Madine.

Substitutes: Jamie Proctor, Conor Wilkinson, Max Clayton, Liam Trotter, Derik Osede, Dean Moxey, Jake Turner.

Charlton Athletic:

Declan Rudd; Adam Chicksen, Ezri Konsa, Patrick Bauer, Lewis Page; Jake Forster-Caskey, Chris Solly, Andrew Crofts, Joe Aribo, Nathan Byrne; Tony Watt.

Substitutes: Dimitar Mitov, Johnnie Jackson, Nicky Ajose, Ricky Holmes, Lee Novak, Anferni Dijksteel, Jay DaSilva.