clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Wolverhampton Wanderers v Bolton Wanderers: LIVE

Bolton visit the in-form leaders in the battle of the Wanderers

Preston North End v Bolton Wanderers - Sky Bet Championship
Karl Henry returns to his former club as Bolton make the journey to table toppers Wolves
Photo by Alex Livesey/Getty Images

The battle of the Wanderers pits high-flying Wolverhampton against relegation zone dwellers Bolton this afternoon.

Judging by the league table you’d be forgiven it’s a forgone conclusion that the home side will win, but Bolton go into the clash unbeaten in six league games. However, Wolves have won eight of their last nine league games and conceded just once in their last three.

Bolton’s track record against Wolves is decent though, with just two defeats in 16 meetings since 1999 and one loss in their last 11 encounters since 2009.

Phil Parkinson makes one change to the side that yet again threw away a lead in mid-week, with Mark Beevers returning from suspension to replace Reece Burke, whose fellow West Ham loanee Josh Cullen returns to the matchday squad on the bench.

Wolves are unsurprisingly unchanged from the side that beat Leeds United 4-1, with a somewhat terrifying front three of Atletico Madrid loanee Diogo Jota, 10-goal striker Leo Bonatini and former Monaco winger Ivan Caveleiro. Oh, and £15 million man Ruben Neves starts in the middle of midfield.

Here are today’s starting lineups. You can follow all the action from Molineux in the comments section below.

Wolverhampton Wanderers (5-2-3): John Ruddy; Matt Doherty, Willy Boly, Connor Coady, Ryan Bennett, Barry Douglas; Ruben Neves, Romain Saiss; Diogo Jota, Leo Bonatini, Ivan Cavaleiro

Substitutes: Will Norris, Alfred N’Diaye, Danny Batth, Helder Costa, Jack Price, Bright Enobhakare, Ruben Vinagre

Bolton Wanderers (4-2-3-1): Ben Alnwick; Mark Little, David Wheater, Mark Beevers, Antonee Robinson; Darren Pratley, Karl Henry; Sammy Ameobi, Josh Vela, Adam Armstrong; Gary Madine

Substitutes: Adam Le Fondre, Will Buckley, Craig Noone, Josh Cullen, Reece Burke, Stephen Darby, Mark Howard