clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers v Walsall: LIVE

Live updates as Wanderers look for a well overdue three points at home to Walsall

Bolton Wanderers v Millwall - Sky Bet Championship
Watch out, Alfie's about: Le Fondre makes his first start since his return to Bolton
Photo by Paul Thomas/Getty Images

Having not won since New Year's Day three points are an absolute must today if Bolton Wanderers are to keep up the pace on the top two in League One.

This week they welcome Walsall to the Macron Stadium, having lost the reverse fixture against today's visitors 1-0 earlier this season.

I think, maybe, Parkinson may have switched his system to a 3-5-2, or potentially a narrow 4-4-2, as Adam Le Fondre is handed his first start since his return to Bolton. Let's just hope he's not ridiculously deployed on the wing... Filipe Morais retains his place, I suspect as a right wing-back, while Andrew Taylor returns after missing the visit to MK Dons with an injury picked up in the warm-up. Hoorah to no Dean Moxey todaym hopefully. For some unbeknown reason Liam Trotter also comes back into the side, while James Henry doesn't even make the squad. There's also a return on the bench for goalkeeper Mark Howard.

The visitors look to be equally packing out the midfield with a 5-4-1 approach. Wanderers will need to keep an eye on the lively, diminutive Erhun Oztumer, who has scored more goals than any of our players with eight from midfield this season.

Here are today's starting lineups, keep up with all the action from the Macron and let us know your thoughts on all things Wanderers-related in the Comments section below.

Bolton Wanderers (3-5-2):

Ben Alnwick; David Wheater, Derik Osede, Mark Beevers; Andrew Taylor, Jay Spearing, Liam Trotter, Filipe Morais; Josh Vela; Adam Le Fondre, Gary Madine.

Substitutes: Conor Wilkinson, Chris Long, Max Clayton, Viv Solomon-Otabor, Tom Thorpe, Dean Moxey, Mark Howard.

Walsall (4-5-1):

Neil Etheridge; Joe Edwards, Matt Preston, James O'Connor, Jason McCarthy, Eoghan O'Connell; Florent Cuvelier, Isaiah Osbourne, Erhun Oztumer, Adam Chambers; Amadou Bakayoko.

Substitutes: Craig MacGillivray, Scott Laird, George Dobson, Simeon Jackson, Kieron Morris, Will Randall, Franck Moussa.