clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oxford United v Bolton Wanderers: LIVE

Live updates as Bolton make the visit to Oxford for the first time this century

Northampton Town v Bolton Wanderers - Sky Bet League One
The big man is back: Jay Spearing makes his return to the starting lineup at Oxford tonight
Photo by Pete Norton/Getty Images

Three wins on the trot and eight goals in their last two away matches sees Bolton Wanderers coming into tonight’s trip to Oxford United in fine fettle. However, they’ll need to be wary of a side that won the reverse fixture 2-0 earlier this season and whom Bolton have only beaten once in six attempts since 1996.

Tonight marks Wanderers’ first visit to Oxford since a 0-0 draw back in April 1999 and a first ever trip to the Kassam Stadium, which opened in 2001.

Phil Parkinson brings Jay Spearing back into the starting lineup for the first time since his injury break, and the little man lines up alongside Darren Pratley in the only change to the side that started the win over Northampton Town on Saturday.

The hosts have former Bolton player Rob Hall patrolling the flanks, and Chris Maguire will be a threat up front. They are, however, without midfielder and League One Young Player of the Month for February Ryan Ledson, who is away on international duty with England Under-20s.

Here are tonight’s starting lineups. You can follow all the action with us, not on Sky Sports (but we will tell you how crap their commentary is and keep a running count of their mentions of our “off-field difficulties”), in the Comments section below.

Bolton Wanderers (3-4-1-2): Ben Alnwick; Dorian Dervite, David Wheater, Mark Beevers; Filipe Morais, Jay Spearing, Darren Pratley, Andrew Taylor; Josh Vela; Gary Madine, Adam Le Fondre.

Substitutes: Chris Long, Max Clayton, Jem Karacan, James Henry, Derik Osede, Mark Howard, Dean Moxey.

Oxford United (4-4-2): Simon Eastwood; Phil Eastwards, Curtis Nelson, Chey Dunkley, Joe Skarz; Rob Hall, John Lundstram, Josh Ruffels, Marvin Johnson; Chris Maguire, Kane Hemmings.

Substitutes: Jack Stevens, Christian Ribeiro, Toni Martinez, Liam Sercombe, Conor McAleny, Joe Rothwell, Charlie Raglan.