clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers v Bury: LIVE

It's squeaky bum time as Wanderers welcome local rivals Bury for a must-win match at the Macron

Bolton Wanderers v Northampton Town - Sky Bet League One
Adam Le Fondre has to persist as a lone striker for the visit of Bury - who play three centre-halves - tonight
Photo by Pete Norton/Getty Images

Bolton Wanderers welcome local rivals Bury to Macron Stadium tonight in desperate need of three points to push them towards promotion.

Having seen their advantage over Fleetwood Town cut to just one point yesterday, a win over Bury is absolutely vital tonight.

Unbelievably, after the inept performance against Oldham Athletic last time out, Phil Parkinson has somehow picked the same ridiculous 3-6-1 formation that managed one shot on target at Boundary Park. That means Adam Le Fondre playing up front on his own against Bury's three centre-halves, having four central midfielders and persisting with a fairly unnecessary three at the back - and Conor Wilkinson remains on the bench, with Max Clayton not involved at all.

The visitors look like they're also going with a back three, with 22-goal James Vaughan (who has scored two-thirds as many goals as our entire match-day squad) leading the line alongside Tom Pope. They also have Jermaine Pennant, who I thought had retired about 10 years ago, on the bench.

Here are tonight's starting lineups, follow all the action and let us know your thoughts on all things Wanderers related in the Comments section below.

Bolton Wanderers (3-6-1): Mark Howard; Dorian Dervite, David Wheater, Mark Beevers; Filipe Morais, Darren Pratley, Jay Spearing, Derik Osede, Josh Vela, Andrew Taylor; Adam Le Fondre.

Substitutes: Chris Long, James Henry, Viv Solomon-Otabor, Jem Karacan, Dean Moxey, Jake Turner, Conor Wilkinson.

Bury (3-5-2): Joe Murphy; Leon Barnett, Antony Kay, Cameron Burgess; Taylor Moore, Paul Caddis, Andrew Tutte, Scott Burgess, Greg Leigh; Tom Pope, James Vaughan.

Substitutes: Ben Williams, Hallam Hope, George Miller, Jack Mackreth, Jermaine Pennant, Ryan Lowe, Callum Hulme.