clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers v Derby County: LIVE

Wanderers welcome promotion hopefuls Derby for their second home of the season

Bolton Wanderers v Stoke City - Pre-Season Friendly
Gary Madine leads the Bolton front line today - can he get back on the scoresheet against Derby?
Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

After two successive hard-fought away draws, Bolton Wanderers return to the Macron Stadium for their second home game of the season as they welcome Derby County.

A first three points of the season would see Wanderers overtake today’s visitors, who’ve started the campaign with one win, one draw and one defeat but have just wrapped up the signing of Tom Lawrence in a £7 million deal. Alright for some.

Phil Parkinson sticks with the starting lineup that began Tuesday night’s 0-0 draw at Birmingham City, which means Adam Armstrong retains his place alongside Gary Madine up front.

The visitors leave new signing Lawrence on the bench, alongside former Bolton loanee Jacob Butterfield as well as international striker Chris Martin, which says a lot. They line up with plenty of attacking threat from Andreas Weimann and Johnny Russell in the wide positions and David Nugent and Matej Vydra up front. They have three former England internationals in their starting lineup, in Nugent, Scott Carson and Tom Huddlestone.

Here are today’s starting lineups. You can follow all the action from the Macron in the Comments section below, and feel free to let us know your thoughts on today’s game and all things Wanderers by commenting.

Bolton Wanderers (3-5-2): Mark Howard; Dorian Dervite, Reece Burke, Mark Beevers; Filipe Morais, Josh Cullen, Darren Pratley, Jem Karacan, Andrew Taylor; Gary Madine, Adam Armstrong

Substitutes: Adam Le Fondre, Will Buckley, Aaron Wilbraham, Mark Little, Antonee Robinson, Derik Osede, Ben Alnwick

Derby County (4-4-2): Scott Carson; Andre Wisdom, Richard Keogh, Curtis Davies, Martin Olsson; Andreas Weimann, Tom Huddleston, Bradley Johnson, Johnny Russell; David Nugent, Matej Vydra

Substitutes: Jonathan Mitchell, Craig Bryson, Chris Martin, Tom Lawrence, Chris Baird, Alex Pearce, Jacob Butterfield