clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers v Nottingham Forest: LIVE

Expect less drama than the last time this fixture took place...

Stoke City v Bolton Wanderers - Sky Bet Championship
Yanic Wildschut gets a start for Bolton as Nottingham Forest come to town
Photo by Nathan Stirk/Getty Images

There was high drama last time Nottingham Forest made the trip north west to face Bolton Wanderers, and it’s extremely unlikely that anything like that will occur as they return this evening.

That last game of the season win that sealed survival is the latest in a string of Forest failed attempts to win at Bolton, going all the way back to 1991. That said, it was actually only our only victory over Forest in the last ten attempts since a 1-0 League Cup win in October 2001. In fact, the previous time we beat Forest at home in a league game was September 1999. Draw anyone?

Wanderers revert to one up top, with Josh Magennis leading the line supported from wide by Craig Noone and Yanic Wildschut. There’s also a start for Josh Vela, alongside Jason Lowe and Joe Williams in midfield for maximum levels of creativity, while Andrew Taylor makes a welcome return from injury and Marc Wilson thankfully goes back to the bench.

Forest have a strong looking side, and they are a good team. Despite being 12th in the league they’re only two points off the play-offs. They boast former England defender Michael Dawson and Premier League experience in giant goalkeeper Costel Pantilimon and Jack Colback, while Joao Carvalho cost them a cool £13 million in the summer. They also have former Bolton loanee Saidy Janko, on loan from Porto, on the bench.

Here are tonight’s starting line-ups. You can follow all the action from the UniBol in the Comments section below, where you can also let us know your thoughts on all things Wanderers related.

Bolton Wanderers (4-3-2-1): Ben Alnwick; Pawel Olkowski, David Wheater, Jack Hobbs, Andrew Taylor; Jason Lowe, Josh Vela, Joe Williams; Craig Noone, Yanic Wildschut; Josh Magennis

Substitutes: Christian Doidge, Clayton Donaldson, Erhun Oztumer, Lloyd Dyer, Mark Little, Marc Wilson, Remi Matthews

Nottingham Forest (4-2-3-1): Costel Pantilimon; Tendayi Darika, Tobias Figuereido, Michael Dawson, Jack Robinson; Jack Colback, Adlene Guedioura; Gil Dias, Joao Carvalho, Joe Lolley; Lewis Grabban

Substitutes: Luke Steele, Hillal Soudani, Ben Watson, Ben Osborn, Saidy Janko, Matty Cash, Michael Hefele