clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers v Bristol City: LIVE

Sky Sports are in town as high-flying Bristol visit Bolton

Derby County v Nottingham Forest - Sky Bet Championship
Tyler Walker makes his Bolton debut against Bristol City tonight
Photo by Alex Livesey - Danehouse/Getty Images

January is done, transfer madness is done, and it’s time for football to do the talking once again. Which could well be a bad thing if you happen to be a Bolton Wanderers fan.

The Whites are back in action for the first time in what seems like ages as they welcome League Cup semi-finalists and high-flyers Bristol City to the Macron tonight, in front of the Sky Sports cameras.

Phil Parkinson has gone with an, erm, interesting starting lineup tonight. I’m going to give him the benefit of the doubt and say it's a very unusual 3-5-2, but in reality it’s more like a 5-5-0 or 5-4-1 if we’re being generous.

At first look, it seems like Tyler Walker makes his debut up front with the most likely support from Sammy Ameobi. Dorian Dervite starts in what looks like a five-man defence, alongside David Wheater and Mark Beevers. Zach Clough is named on the bench on his return to the club, where he’s joined by fellow Deadline Day signing Jon Flanagan.

The visitors look a little more expansive, with wide threat from Jamie Paterson and Ryan Kent and two strikers led by Bobby Reid.

Here are tonight’s starting line-ups. You can follow all the action in the Comments section below, and let us know your thoughts on all things Wanderers related.

Bolton Wanderers (5-3-2): Ben Alnwick; Mark Little, David Wheater, Dorian Dervite, Mark Beevers, Antonee Robinson; Derik Osede, Karl Henry, Josh Vela; Sammy Ameobi, Tyler Walker

Substitutes: Zach Clough, Adam Le Fondre, Will Buckley, Filipe Morais, Jon Flanagan, Andrew Taylor, Mark Howard

Bristol City (4-4-2): Luke Steele; Korey Smith, Aden Flint, Bailey Wright, Joe Bryan; Jamie Paterson, Josh Brownhill, Marlon Pack, Ryan Kent; Famara Diedhiou, Bobby Reid

Substitutes: Jojo Wollacott, Hörður Björgvin Magnusson, Lloyd Kelly, Liam Walsh, Niclas Eliasson, Gustav Engvall, Lois Diony