clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers announce player departures

There are seven departures thus far...

Bolton Wanderers v Sheffield Wednesday - Sky Bet Championship Photo by Nathan Stirk/Getty Images

News has just broken via the official website that Bolton Wanderers have announced their released list.

Upon their contract expiry’s on the 30th June, Derik Osede, Dorian Dervite, Jem Karacan, Chris Taylor, Mark Howard, Chinedu Obasi and Jan Kirchhoff will leave the club and won’t be offered renewals.

As there are a whopping twenty two players out of contract this summer, it is anticipated that there will be a similar announcement in the coming days for the other fifteen regarding their respective futures in the form of another released list leaving those unnamed inevitably under-negotiation for new contracts with the club in due course.

Those whose futures remain in question include Ben Alnwick, David Wheater, Mark Beevers, Karl Henry, Darren Pratley, Sammy Ameobi, Filipe Morais, Aaron Wilbraham, Jeff King, Connor Hall, Harry Brockbank, Alex Perry, Ryan White and Cole Lonsdale.

Manager Phil Parkinson has expressed his gratitude for those players efforts who are to leave the club and has “wished them well for the future”.

Emotional farewell’s go to Derik, Karacan, Dervite and Mark Howard who were all prominent contributors to our survival and promotion over the last two seasons respectively. Meanwhile it is a mutual goodbye to Obasi and Kirchhoff whose spells at the club were no less than short-lived. Chris Taylor also leaves the club after a couple of years at the club, we wish him well upon his departure with no love lost.

We now await the next batch of potential departures before looking ahead to what promises to be a huge transfer window for Wanderers, both in terms of contract renewals and new faces.