clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers v Birmingham City: LIVE

Cardiff City v Wolverhampton Wanderers - Sky Bet Championship
Yanic Wildschut makes his first Bolton start, along with Erhun Oztumer and Gary O’Neil
Photo by Harry Trump/Getty Images

An unexpectedly strong start to the season has Bolton Wanderers fans in high spirits going into the second home game of the season tonight.

After two wins out of three league games, and a draw from a game we should have won from a winning position, Bolton are sitting pretty on seven points and with a very outside chance of topping the league this evening.

Worryingly, Bolton haven’t beaten or even scored against tonight’s opponents in their last five attempts, losing four of those games by a 1-0 scoreline. But, a 6-0 victory tonight could see them shoot above Leeds United into top spot in The Championship.

Phil Parkinson makes three changes from the side that won at Reading on Saturday, and they are positive, attacking moves. Erhun Oztumer, Yanic Wildschut and Gary O’Neil all make their first starts for the club.

Birmingham looking to be going with a 4-4-2, with former Bolton striker Lukas Jutkiewicz leading the line alongside Omar Bogle. There’s plenty of wide threat from Jota and Jacques Maghoma, and another former Bolton loanee on the bench in Viv Solomon-Otabor.

Here are tonight’s starting line-ups. You can follow all the action in the Comments section below and via the Twitter feed - which Muggins here will also be running. Feel free to get in touch with your thoughts on tonight’s game and all things Wanderers related.

Bolton Wanderers (4-2-3-1): Ben Alwnick; Pawel Olkowski, David Wheater, Mark Beevers, Andrew Taylor; Jason Lowe, Gary O’Neil; Craig Noone, Erhun Oztumer, Yanic Wildschut; Josh Magennis

Substitutes: Clayton Donaldson, Sammy Ameobi, Will Buckley, Josh Vela, Marc Wilson, Mark Little, Remi Matthews

Birmingham City (4-4-2): Lee Camp; Jurgen Colin, Michael Morrison, Harlee Dean, Kristian Pedersen; Jota, Gary Gardner, Maikel Kieftenbeld, Jacques Maghoma; Lukas Jutkiewicz, Omar Bogle

Substitutes: Connal Trueman, Che Adams, Marc Roberts, Wes Harding, Viv Solomon-Otabor, Charlie Lakin, Connor Mahoney