clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ipswich Town v Bolton Wanderers: LIVE

Can Bolton arrest a slump in form at a very unhappy hunting ground?

Walsall v Northampton Town - Sky Bet League One
Erhun Oztumer makes a welcome start as Wanderers make the journey to Ipswich Town
Photo by Pete Norton/Getty Images

Recent results have seen Bolton Wanderers go from a promising start and third in the league to one point in four games and 15th position. Today they make a trip east to face bottom of the league Ipswich Town, who remain without a win and with just four points to their name this season.

However, if there was one side the hosts would want to play to end their poor start to the season, it’d be Bolton. Wanderers haven’t beaten Ipswich in a league match in 16 years, and our last victory over them came in an FA Cup clash way back in January 2005. Since then, we’ve gone ten games without beating them, of which we’ve lost six.

Phil Parkinson has made the bold move of dropping both his senior centre-halves, with Jack Hobbs and Marc Wilson starting in place of David Wheater and Mark Beevers, and they’ll have the nervy job of having to deal with Jonathan Grounds alongside them at left-back. There’s also a welcome start for Erhun Oztumer, who’ll start in behind Josh Magennis and flanked by Will Buckley and Craig Noone.

Ipswich look to be playing an odd 4-5-1 with Kayden Jackson leading the line and what looks like four central midfielders, of whom one will push wider.

Here are today’s starting lineups. You can follow all the action in the Comments section below, where you can also let us know your thoughts on all things Wanderers related.

Ipswich Town (4-5-1): Dean Gerken; Toto Nsiala, Matthew Pennington, Luke Chambers, Jonas Knudsen; Gwion Edwards, Jon Nolan, Cole Skuse, Trevor Chalobah, Grant Ward; Kayden Jackson

Substitutes: Bartosz Bialkowski, Ellis Harrison, Jordan Spence, Jordan Graham, Flynn Downes, Tayo Edun, Jon Walters

Bolton Wanderers (4-2-3-1): Ben Alnwick; Pawel Olkowski, Jack Hobbs, Marc Wilson, Jonathan Grounds; Joe Williams, Jason Lowe; Craig Noone, Erhun Oztumer, Will Buckley; Josh Magennis

Substitutes: Christian Doidge, Clayton Donaldson, Josh Vela, Yanic Wildschut, Gary O’Neil, David Wheater, Remi Matthews