clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bolton Wanderers v Walsall: LIVE

Wanderers welcome Walsall with a chance to forget about the off-field chaos

Stoke City v Bolton Wanderers - Sky Bet Championship
Yanic Wildschut makes a first appearance since 15 December
Photo by Nathan Stirk/Getty Images

It’s a big weekend in the footballing calendar as the FA Cup comes to town. Today, Bolton Wanderers welcome League One side Walsall to the University of Bolton Stadium, hoping to reach the third round of the competition for the first time in three years.

Phil Parkinson makes five changes to the side that got annihilated by Hull City on New Year’s Day. Josh Magennis comes in up top because Christian Doidge is “unavailable,” while Luke Murphy returns from the dead after 19 weeks without an appearance, starting in midfield alongside Josh Vela and Jason Lowe, with Pawel Olkowski finally coming back into the side to take his place at right-back.

Craig Noone and Yanic Wildschut, who makes a first appearance since 15 December, also come into the team on the wings. While 32-games-without-a-goal-striker-Clayton Donaldson is somehow still in the match-day squad and is joined on the bench by youngsters Connor Hall and Yanic Wildschut. For some bizarre reason, Parky has chosen not to start Erhun Oztumer against his former club - he’s clearly never played Football Manager.

Walsall look to be going with a 4-4-2, led by Andy Cook - who scored 49 league goals for Tranmere Rovers in the previous two seasons - and former Crystal Palace and Boreham Wood striker Morgan Ferrier.

One player to watch out for will be former Norwich City and West Ham United winger Matt Jarvis, while another former Norwich player starts in defence, Russell Martin. The visitors are captained by former Arsenal and West Ham youth product, 21-year-old midfielder George Dobson.

Here are today’s starting line-ups. You can follow all the action from the UniBol in the Comments section below, or via our Twitter feed.

Bolton Wanderers (4-3-3): Ben Alnwick; Pawel Olkowski, David Wheater, Mark Beevers, Jonathan Grounds; Jason Lowe, Luke Murphy, Josh Vela; Craig Noone, Josh Magennis, Yanic Wildschut

Substitutes: Connor Hall, Luca Connell, Erhun Oztumer, Clayton Donaldson, Will Buckley, Mark Little, Ben Williams

Walsall: Liam Roberts; Nicky Devlin, Russell Martin, Jon Guthrie, Luke Leahy; Matt Jarvis, Liam Kinsella, George Dobson, Zeli Ismail; Andy Cook, Morgan Ferrier

Substitutes: Chris Dunn, Joe Edwards, Kieron Morris, Maz Kouhyar, Connor Johnson, Josh Gordon, Isaiah Osbourne